Legal penalties for DUI in Florida

Legal penalties for DUI in Florida

| Sep 30, 2020 | Firm News

Penalties for driving under the influence in Florida vary based on the circumstances of the case and the person’s legal history. DUI charges apply to both blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher and obvious impairment.

Review the state’s legal penalties for a DUI conviction before facing a court date.

No DUI history

With no prior DUIs, a driver could receive:

  • Six-to-12-month license suspension
  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days
  • Six to nine months in jail
  • Fine of $500 to $1,000, or up to $2,000 with elevated BAC or an underage passenger

One previous DUI

Motorists who receive a second DUI conviction within five years of the first are subject to:

  • Five-year license suspension
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
  • Mandatory jail sentence of at least 10 days and up to 12 months
  • Fine of $1,000 to $2,000, or up to $4,000 with elevated BAC or an underage passenger

Two previous DUIs

If a person gets a third DUI within 10 years of the first and second, he or she could receive:

  • 10-year license suspension
  • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days
  • Mandatory jail sentence of at least 30 days and up to 12 months
  • Fine of $1,000 to $2,000, or up to $4,000 with elevated BAC or an underage passenger

Individuals who struggle with substance use disorder can sometimes apply for a diversion or drug court program. Stricter penalties, including up to $5,000 in fines and up to five years in jail, apply to drunk driving accidents that cause serious injury.