Everyone’s body reacts differently to alcohol. Some people become intoxicated much more easily than others. If you’re not sure whether your blood alcohol content is above the legal limit, you might feel tempted to risk it and drive. Here’s what you should know about Florida DUI law before you take that gamble.
Florida DUI law
Florida law has a set schedule for fines and other consequences for driving under the influence. The penalties become significantly more severe for repeated offenses.
The first time you receive a DUI, you will have to pay a fine of between $500 and $1,000. You might also have to go to jail for up to 6 months.
If you get a second DUI after that, then the fine is increased to between $1,000 and $2,000. The possible jail time also increases to up to 9 months.
In addition, after your second DUI you will have to pay for an ignition interlock device and keep it in your car for at least one year. This is a device that you must blow into prior to starting your car. If the device detects that your blood alcohol level is above the legal limit, it will not allow your car’s ignition to start. You’ll need to purchase one of these devices for each of your cars.
After your third DUI, you’ll have to pay up to $5,000, and you could go to jail for a year. You’ll also have to have an interlock device for two years. If you get a fourth DUI, you will be found guilty of a third-degree felony.
Florida law is quite harsh on intoxicated drivers. Even if you think that you haven’t drunk enough to earn yourself a DUI, it’s best to play it safe and avoid the risk of driving. The consequences simply aren’t worth it.